Tags

, , , ,

I gotta be honest.  I don’t like the dress.  It’s ugly.  I would expect to find it on a rack at the Goodwill where you find the donated prom dresses from the 70’s.  So yesterday when it started popping up in my newsfeed, I searched for the “hide post” button.  What in the world?  It wasn’t until about the 10th time that my eyes had been forced to look at the dress that I finally clicked on the button to satisfy my curiosity at the hype.  The article that pulled up looked like one of those scammy surveys where you vote and then they steal your CC information because they now have the exact latitude and longitude of where you are posting from.   I didn’t understand why anybody could possibly think that the dress was blue and black when it was OBVIOUSLY white and gold.  What in the world?

It wasn’t until this morning when I posted about my total lack of understanding about why something like this would go viral, that I began to understand EXACTLY why it went viral.

We see color with our eyes… so if our eyes deceive us about something as obvious as the color of a dress, what else are they deceiving us about?  This dress is certainly a color.  That color is not changing, it remains constant…yet what a variety of people see is fluctuating based on the wiring of their eyes.

I now know why this is blowing the minds of so many people.  They are realizing whether consciously or subconsciously that they can’t always trust their eyes.

Truth is a constant.  It is never changing.  Some people will see it through different lenses, but Truth stands and truth endures.  We often forget that Truth is the ONLY thing that is trustworthy.  We often trust our senses instead of trusting what He said…what He has promised…what He is doing behind the scenes.  We can’t always trust our eyes, my friend.  But if you understand and believe the Word of God, you don’t have to.

“for we walk by faith, not by sight.” 2 Corin. 5:7

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

Faith is the assurance of things that we cannot yet see.  It is the evidence that they do exist and that we can live as if they are things we are already seeing with our eyes.  Without faith, it is impossible to please God, because in a sense we are saying “I don’t believe You.”  As Christians, we don’t have to rely on our eyes.  We can rely on something far more dependable.

The Word of God is the ONLY Truth…the only thing sure thing…the only constant on this earth.  To ignore it…to marginalize it… to reject or mock it…is to literally take your life into your own hands.  Psalm 119 is a fabulous part of Scripture that speaks to the importance of Truth. I encourage you to take some time today and read all 176 verses, but here is one…

“Teach me good judgment and discernment, for I rely on Your commands.” Psalm 119:66

The dress is a color. Who knows what color it actually is, but maybe this ugly dress (sorry, but I just think it’s ugly) has made obvious what the Bible has noted along.  We can’t even rely on our eyes.

“And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.”