Tags

3 weeks ago, I asked the Lord how I could give to Him the first fruits of my increase with the company that I own. A short time later, He provided the answer. It was a hard decision and I wrestled with it…it was going to cost me. In the end, obedience is what I chose.

Almost immediately after that, the enemy attacked. He raged. One situation after another spun seemingly out of control for my business. Yet I got to watch Jesus calmly walk on water in the middle of the storm.  Things that should have happened, didn’t. The destruction I expected from the situations that arose was held back by the Mighty Hand of God.

The last 3 weeks have been grueling. His Word to me has been “Watch Me walk on water. It has to be enough that you are content to follow Me. Let me have your goals, your end results, your expectations. I must be enough.”

That’s a hard place to be.  I want to meet my goals.  I want my expectations to be met. Who wants to work towards no result in the end?

It’s here that I realized that He wasn’t asking me to work towards nothing. No, what He wanted to see happen in my life was for my end result to always be HIM.  My labor isn’t in vain when it is in the Lord…when the end result is just a closer walk with Jesus…to be content watching HIM walk on water.  When that is my only goal, my whole perspective changes.

We all know the story of David and Goliath in I Samuel 17.  The Philistine giant of Gath would come out day after day to the Israel camp frightening them back to their tents.  That giant stood there mocking them, saying things that I have heard the enemy say to me before.  “Why are you even out here?”  “You think you can defeat me?” “Go ahead give it your best shot.”  We know our best is not even close to slaying that giant in front of us, so we shrink back…we avoid him…we hide from him…we may even come out and pretend like we are going to fight, but the minute he shows himself, we run. So why was David different than ALL of these Israelite warriors put together. Here was a boy… a BOY…willing to face the giant.  Not only was this boy willing to take on the giant, but he insisted on doing it without armor or any kind.  Don’t you know that those warriors of the Israelite camp watched that boy walk out there on his own without armor on and gave him absolutely NO chance of slaying the giant?  Some might have even shed tears at the sight of the Israelite army feeding a young lad to the wolves.

What was different about David?  I asked God this question as I read parts of this story that I had never seen before.  Why did David have so much confidence in God?  Was it because of the bear and the lion that he had killed while watching the sheep?  No doubt that built David’s faith, but I believe that David’s confidence came from the same place that Shadrach, Meshach and Abednigo’s did when they told King Nebuchadnezzar that whether God delivered them from the fire or not, they weren’t bowing.

Unshakeable confidence in the Lord comes from a perspective that we are here for Him…that our lives ONLY matter because they were created by THE Great God.  We are not here to meet our own goals, to fulfill our own agendas, or to make this our show. We are here for Him.

David’s whole existence was tied up in this fact.  When he went to battle against Goliath, he did it in the Name of the Lord of Hosts.  He did it because he was offended by what he saw around him…people who claimed to know his God, but yet couldn’t even be persuaded to face the giant though they were offered the king’s table.  He did it because He KNEW without wavering that we are here for Him…the battle belongs to the Lord.

It wasn’t the stone that killed this giant, it was that ONE thing.  Whatever happens to me, I am here for Him.  It’s His show.  The battle is the Lord’s.

He walked right up to that giant who was laughing in his face…that giant who was as shocked as the Israelites at who had taken him up on his offer…that giant who had just as much confidence in himself as David had in his God.  “This battle belongs to ME.” thought that giant. “Easy peasy.” He never saw it coming.

These words of David have been my lifeline for that last 3 weeks.  I read them to myself every day and I speak them to some really ugly nasty giants that I am up against almost every night.  These words of David remind me that I am not here to meet goals or produce results.  I am simply here for Him.  The stone of this Word will slay the giants and they WILL fall.  They don’t believe that they will fall, but they will.

“You come against me with a dagger, spear, and sword, but I come against you in the Name of Lord of Hosts, the God of Israel’s armies – you have defied HIM. TODAY the Lord will hand you over to me.  TODAY I’ll strike you down, cut your head off, and give the corpses of the Philistine camp to the birds of the sky and the creatures of the earth.  Then all the world will know that Israel has a God, and this whole assembly will know that it is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves, for the battle is the Lord’s.  He will hand you over to us.”  I Samuel 17:45

Hear me, giants.  We are here for Him. The LORD WILL hand you over to us.